Episcopal Diocese of Rochester
Joy in Christ, a way of life

The Standing Committee / 2022-2024 Bishop Search

The Standing Committee has several functions.  It acts as the Bishop's Council of Advice (Article VII.2);  approves actions that encumber real property/equipment of the church; approves indebtedness for current expenses in excess of 20% of the previous year’s receipts for current expenses; approves requests to elect bishops; approves the election of bishops; and, approves candidates for Holy Orders. It is composed of four lay and four clerical members, has a (4) year term that begins and ends at the annual convention. The Standing Committee serves as the Ecclesiastical Authority in the absence of a bishop.

Please direct all questions to the Standing Committee to its president, Micheal Davis.

Meet The Rt. Rev. Stephen T. Lane, and the Standing Committee of Rochester HERE


The Standing Committee is beginning the process of calling our next bishop, and would like your help.  In the coming months, members of the Standing Committee will host “listening sessions."  Please read this letter from the Standing Committee to learn more.


Name Role Details Term Contact
Very Rev. Leslie Burkardt Elected
2018 to 2022 leslie@stthomasrochester.org
Joe Daboll-Lavoie Elected
2018 to 2022 jdaboll6@naz.edu
Very Rev. Kenneth Pepin Elected
2019 to 2023 kenstlfpt@gmail.com
Michael Davis President Elected
2019 to 2023 mjd1818@gmail.com
Very Rev. Ruth Ferguson Elected
2020 to 2024 rector@christchurchrochester.org
Floyd Bayley Elected
2020 to 2024 fbayley42@gmail.com
Rev. Nita Byrd Elected
2021 to 2025 byrd@hws.edu
Jeremy Cooney Elected
2021 to 2025 jeremy.cooney@gmail.com

Meeting Minutes