Episcopal Diocese of Rochester
Joy in Christ, a way of life

The Standing Committee

The Standing Committee has several functions.  It acts as the Bishop's Council of Advice (Article VII.2);  approves actions that encumber real property/equipment of the church; approves indebtedness for current expenses in excess of 20% of the previous year’s receipts for current expenses; approves requests to elect bishops; approves the election of bishops; and, approves candidates for Holy Orders. It is composed of four lay and four clerical members, has a (4) year term that begins and ends at the annual convention. The Standing Committee serves as the Ecclesiastical Authority in the absence of a bishop.

Please direct all questions to the Standing Committee to its president, Micheal Davis.


Name Role Details Term Contact
Very Rev. Leslie Burkardt Elected
2018 to 2022 leslie@stthomasrochester.org
Joe Daboll-Lavoie Elected
2018 to 2022 jdaboll6@naz.edu
Very Rev. Kenneth Pepin Elected
2019 to 2023 kenstlfpt@gmail.com
Michael Davis President Elected
2019 to 2023 mjd1818@gmail.com
Very Rev. Ruth Ferguson Elected
2020 to 2024 rector@christchurchrochester.org
Floyd Bayley Elected
2020 to 2024 fbayley42@gmail.com
Rev. Nita Byrd Elected
2021 to 2025 byrd@hws.edu
Jeremy Cooney Elected
2021 to 2024 jeremy.cooney@gmail.com

Meeting Minutes