Episcopal Diocese of Rochester
Joy in Christ, a way of life

The Standing Committee


Diocesan Bishop Search


Email Ken at standing.committee@episcopaldioceseofrochester.org


June 6, 2023

Transition Committee Appointed

View Members


For details on the Bishop Search visit the NEW website for the

Discernment and Nominating Committee


Click HERE to

Meet the Chaplain to the Search Process


                                                                                                                                           May 9, 2023

.                  .


To complete the survey online, click here: bit.ly/edor-search-survey

To print the survey, click here: bit.ly/edor-search-paper survey
Paper surveys can be mailed to: 
Rev. Keisha Stokes 
Zion Episcopal Church
120 East Main Street
Palmyra, NY 14522

Please mail your survey by May 31. 

Questions?  Please contact the Reverend Columba Salamony at columba@stmarkspennyan.org.

May 8, 2023

Bishop Diocesan Transition Committee Application Form

The Standing Committee is now receiving applications to be considered for membership on the Transition Committee for the 9th Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester. The Transition Committee will consist of 10 to 12 people.  

If you are discerning a call to serve on this committee, please continue reading HERE.  The deadline is May 31, 2023.

Questions?  Please contact the Very Reverend Kenneth Pepin, President of the Standing Committee.



May 3, 2023

An update to the Bishop Search from the Very Rev. Kenneth Pepin, President of the Standing Committee


letter from the  Discernment and Nominating Committee 

May 1, 2023


March 15, 2023

letter from the Rev. Julie Cicora, Chair of the Discernment and Nominating Committee


March 3, 2023


Dear friends and colleagues:

In the spirit of transparency and goodwill, the Standing Committee is writing to catch you up on where we are in our Episcopal Transition process. As you know, read more


Listening Sessions

January 26, 2023

The Standing Committee is pleased to release the attached ”What We Heard” narrative summary of the 15 Listening Sessions we held. It was both a privilege and a gift to be able to invite conversation and then listen.  Read more


"What We Heard"

January 26, 2023

This is a narrative form of what we heard. It attempts to capture and summarize what the Standing Committee members heard in the Listening Sessions.  Read more.

The Standing Committee has several functions.  It acts as the Bishop's Council of Advice (Article VII.2);  approves actions that encumber real property/equipment of the church; approves indebtedness for current expenses in excess of 20% of the previous year’s receipts for current expenses; approves requests to elect bishops; approves the election of bishops; and, approves candidates for Holy Orders. It is composed of four lay and four clerical members, has a (4) year term that begins and ends at the annual convention. The Standing Committee serves as the Ecclesiastical Authority in the absence of a bishop.

Please direct all questions to the Standing Committee to President, The Very Rev. Kenneth Pepin.


Name Role Details Term Contact
Very Rev. Kenneth Pepin President Elected
2019 to 2023 standing.committee@episcopaldioceseofrochester.org
Michael Davis Elected
2019 to 2023 mjd1818@gmail.com
Very Rev. Ruth Ferguson Elected
2020 to 2024 rector@christchurchrochester.org
Floyd Bayley Elected
2020 to 2024 fbayley42@gmail.com
Rev. Nita Byrd Elected
2021 to 2025 byrd@hws.edu
Jeremy Cooney Elected
2021 to 2025 jeremy.cooney@gmail.com
Rev. Cameron Miller Elected
2022 to 2026 rcammiller@gmail.com
Elizabeth Salamone Elected
2022 to 2026 sundayschool@christchurchpittsford.com

Meeting Minutes