Episcopal Diocese of Rochester
Joy in Christ, a way of life

Commission on Ministry

The Commission on Ministry (COM) advises and assists the Bishop in determining present and future opportunities and needs for the ministry of all baptized persons in the Diocese; in recruiting and selecting persons for Holy Orders; and in guiding and examining Postulants, Candidates, and Deacons in training for priesthood. The COM provides financial assistance for the continuing education of clergy and lay professionals. The COM also assists parishes in discerning appropriate candidates for Holy Orders.

To faciliate its work, the COM is divided into these committees:

  • Laity Committee 
  • Diaconate Committee 
  • Priesthood Committee

The process of ordination to the priesthood in the Diocese of Rochester is described in detail in "The Commission on Ministry: Vocational Discernment Handbook."

By diocesan canon, the COM is both elected and appointed. The Commission on Ministry shall consist of not more than nineteen(19) nor less than nine (9) persons, no more than a simple majority of which may be from either the clerical or lay order.  Terms are three years. After serving two terms, a member must rotate off for at least one year. A simple majority of the members are elected at Convention. The remaining membership is appointed by the Bishop.

 The COM meets the 2nd Tuesday of every month, from 5 - 7 p.m. Committees may have additional meetings.



Name Role Details Term Contact
The Very Rev. Andrew VanBuren Appointed
2016 to 2019 andrewvanb@gmail.com
The Rev. Georgia Carney Appointed
2016 to 2019 gmcarney5070@gmail.com
James Garner Elected
2018 to 2021 jimgarner2256@gmail.com
Kathy O'Leary Elected
2018 to 2021 kathyjoleary@gmail.com
The Rev. John Thompson Elected
2018 to 2021 priest@stpetesdansville.org
Judith Day Appointed
2018 to 2021 jday4001@gmail.com
Rev. Keith Patterson Elected 2017 to 2020 rector@twosaints.org
Carolyn McConnell Mailings carolyn@episcopaldioceseofrochester.org
The Rev. Krista Cameron Elected 2017 to 2020 revkrista1@frontiernet.net
Robert Ferris Elected
2017 to 2020 music@stthomasrochester.org
Jill Daddis Elected
2017 to 2020 jdaddis@rochester.rr.com
Ellen Ralston Cochair Elected
2017 to 2020 mommar680@aol.com
The Rev. Philip Kasey Appointed
2016 to 2019 phkasey@gmail.com
The Rev. Jimmie Sue Deppe Cochair Elected
2016 to 2019 jsadeppe@gmail.com
The Rev. Dahn Gandell Elected
2016 to 2019 motherdahn@hotmail.com
Robin Yergeau Elected
2016 to 2019 ryerg03@gmail.com