Episcopal Diocese of Rochester
Joy in Christ, as a way of life

Live webcast on Wednesday addresses General Convention 2009

Presiding Officers, others will field questions from audience, online

Access webcast at http://www.episcopalchurch.org

 

[May 11, 2009] General Convention 2009 of the Episcopal Church will be the topic of a live webcast on Wednesday, May 13 at 8 am Pacific (9 am Mountain, 10 am Central, 11 am Eastern).

 

* General Convention 2009 (GC09) will be held July 8 - 17 at the Anaheim Convention Center in California.


* The webcast will originate from Anaheim, the site of this year\'s General Convention.

 

* Participants in the live webcast will be: Presiding Bishop of the Episcopal Church, the Most Rev. Katharine Jefferts Schori; President of the House of Deputies Bonnie Anderson; Executive Officer and Secretary of the General Convention, the Rev. Dr. Gregory Straub; and Bishop J. Jon Bruno of the Diocese of Los Angeles, the host diocese.


* Questions will be accepted via email at newsline@episcopalchurch.org


* To access the live webcast, go to the Episcopal Church home page: www.episcopalchurch.org  

 

The Episcopal Church\'s General Convention, held every three years, is the bicameral governing body of the church. General Convention, the second largest legislative body in the world, is comprised of the House of Bishops, with upwards of 200 members, and the House of Deputies, with clergy and lay representatives from the 110 dioceses, at over 700 members.

 

For more information: General Convention: www.episcopalchurch.org/gc2009.htm 

 

Diocese of Los Angeles: www.ladiocese.org

 

The Episcopal Church, with 110 dioceses in 15 nations, is a member province of the Worldwide Anglican Communion.

 

# # #

 

For more info contact:

Neva Rae Fox

Public Affairs Officer

The Episcopal Church

newsline@episcopalchurch.org

212-716-6080 Mobile: 917-478-5659