Episcopal Diocese of Rochester
Joy in Christ, a way of life

Diocese elects council, committee leadership

ROCHESTER, N.Y. - Delegates recently elected clergy and priests to several diocesan ruling bodies and committees at the 81st Convention of the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester. The Convention, held in Geneva, N.Y., on Saturday, November 10, 2012, is a gathering of Episcopal clergy and laity from churches in Allegany, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Schuyler, Steuben, Wayne and Yates counties.

Convention voted to elect Ms. Judy Carpenter of St. Paul's, Rochester; Mr. Scott Seabridge of Incarnation, Penfield; and Dr. Carolyn Mok of St. Thomas, Rochester, to positions as lay-at-large members of the Diocesan Council, a governing body of the Diocese. The Rev. Deven Hubert of St. Luke’s, Fairport, in the Monroe District; the Rev. Susan Kohlmeier of Zion, Palmyra, in the Northeast District; the Rev. Mary Ann Brody of St. Stephen’s, Rochester, in the Rochester District; the Rev. Charlie Tyo of Christ Church, Corning, in the Southeast District; and the Rev. Eric Thompson of St. Michael’s, Geneseo, in the Southwest District were all elected as district members of Diocesan Council.

Convention also elected new members of the Board of Trustees, which oversees diocesan funds and securities. Newly elected members include the Rev. Marilyle Sweet Page of Christ Church, Rochester; the Rev. John Burr, St. Luke and St. Simon, Cyrene; and Susan Scanlon, Esq., of St. Thomas, Rochester.

The Very Rev. Michael W. Hopkins of St. Luke and St. Simon, Cyrene, and Mr. Neil Houghton of St. John's, Honeoye Falls, were both elected as members of the diocesan Standing Committee. The committee approves the ordination of priests and acts as the Bishop’s Council of Advice.

The Convention elected all seven nominees to the Commision on Ministry. Those elected include the Rev. Linda Leibhart of Church of the Redeemer, Addison; the Rev. Ken Pepin of Episcopal Senior Life Communities; the Rev. Jennifer Zogg of St. Paul's, Rochester; Mr. Allison Bourne of St. Peter's, Henrietta; Mr. John Clinton Bradley of St. Luke & St. Simon, Cyrene; Ms. Elizabeth Campbell of St. John's, Canandaigua; and Ms. Keri Omphroy of Incarnation, Penfield.

Two positions were filled on the diocesan Disciplinary Board. Jeremy Cooney, Esq., of Christ Church, Rochester, and the Rev. Mary Ann Brody of St. Stephen's, Rochester, were both elected by Convention as lay and clergy members, respectively.

Election Results


Diocesan Council: Lay-at-Large


Ms. Judy Carpenter, St. Paul's, Rochester


Mr. Scott Seabridge, Incarnation, Penfield


Dr. Carolyn Mok, St. Thomas', Rochester




Diocesan Council: By District


Monroe: The Rev. Deven Hubert, St. Luke's, Fairport


Northeast: The Rev. Susan Kohlmeier, Zion, Palmyra


Rochester: The Rev. Mary Ann Brody, St. Stephen's, Rochester


Southeast: The Rev. Charlie Tyo, Christ Church, Corning


Southwest: The Rev. Eric Thompson, St. Michael's, Geneseo






The Rev. Marilyle Sweet Page, Christ Church, Rochester


The Rev. John Burr, St. Luke & St. Simon Cyrene, Rochester


Ms. Susan Scanlon, St. Thomas', Rochester




Standing Committee 


The Very Rev. Michael Hopkins, St. Luke & St. Simon Cyrene, Rochester


Mr. Neil Houghton, St. John's, Honeoye Falls




Commission on Ministry


The Rev. Linda Leibhart, Redeemer, Addison


The Rev. Ken Pepin, Episcopal SeniorLife Communities


The Rev. Jennifer Zogg, St. Paul's, Rochester


Mr. Allison Bourne, St. Peter's, Henrietta


Mr. John Clinton Bradley, St. Luke & St. Simon Cyrene, Rochester


Ms. Libby Campbell, St. John's Canandaigua


Ms. Keri Omphroy, Incarnation, Penfield


(Convention moved to elect all 7 nominees)